Scholarship Tea » 2017 Scholarship Tea

2017 Scholarship Tea


The annual Ashdown Scholarship Tea was held on Sunday, April 30, 2017 at 2p.m. in the Ashdown High School Cafeteria. Forty-eight scholarships of $ 25,725 were given to 32 Ashdown High School Seniors.

The Scholarship Committee has awarded over 100% of all donated moneys for some time due to investments. We plan to continue this trend and strive both to recognize students’ needs and to reward their hard work and high aspirations.

Last year, we awarded 52 scholarships with a total value of $27,211. This brings the total scholarships to $397,718 over the course of our 31-year history. The committee has authorized an alumni fund through which former students of Ashdown High School, businesses, or other individuals may contribute to the program in any amount and at any time. Such contributions may be made in honor or memory of friends and loved ones. Scholarships are tax deductible and may be sent to Ashdown Public Schools, 751 Rankin St., Ashdown, AR 71822. You may attention your correspondence to: Ashdown Scholarship Committee. You may call 903-826-4434 if you have any questions.

We would like to thank all of the donors for allowing us to continue honoring our deserving seniors from Ashdown High School. We would also like to encourage businesses, as well as individuals to support the scholarship program.

Pictured on front row (l-r):  Joe Pennington (Lois McGraw Memorial & TDS); Bryson Haskins (Fred C. Jester, Jr. Memorial & James E. Sutton, Jr. Memorial); Charlie Trammell (Domtar & Ashdown Athletic Booster); Cole Grimes (Davis Family); Tyler Merrell (Gloria Potts Memorial); Karen McMillan (Cowling Title & Melba Porter Memorial); Hannah McElroy (Class of 1965 & Jalen Lewis Memorial); Makenna Kuykendall (Farm Bureau); and Jake Register (LRC Retired Teachers & Shirl and Nancy McCoy)

Middle row (l-r):  Seth Anderson (Ashdown Alumni Association); Zach Spigner (Ashdown Alumni Association & Jalen Lewis Memorial); Nathan House (Bishop and Bishop & Bob Porter Memorial); Callie Redfearn (Mil-Way Federal Credit Union & Rotary Club); Jacob Purifoy (Fred C. Jester, Sr. Memorial); Wade Madden (William Coker Memorial); Rachel Hurd (Bear State Bank & Lois McGraw Memorial); Christie Sain (Bennie Ferrell Memorial) and Cody Tilley (AHS Band Booster & Farm Bureau)

Last row (l-r):  Jada Cush (Class of 1989); Hannah Redfearn (Mr. & Mrs. Jim Mounts); Kasie Hanks (Delta Kappa Gamma & Harrell and Harriet Henderson Memorial); Kayla Garner (Little River Hardwood & Matt Harris Memorial (Band); Kayla Karr (Little River Extension & Coca Cola); Deontranique Winfrey (Ashdown Alumni Association); Kenethia Gulley (Ashdown School Administrators); and Jacobi Halliburton (Imogene Mize Memorial & Matt Harris Memorial (Drama)

Not Pictured:  Troy Ybarra (Ashdown Eye Care & Kaufman Seed Memorial); Quincey Nettles (Cecil & Beth Bowman Memorial); Coleman Pearson Memorial (Cole Deloney); Brayden Martin (Jalen Lewis Memorial); Jasmine Dennis (Wesley Strange Memorial); and Tye James (William & Mary Welch Memorial)