Counselor’s Notes

Nancy Coker: AJHS Counselor

Parents are especially welcome at our school! Below you will find a variety of opportunities for Parents, Volunteers, & Students.

For more information contact:

Nancy Coker, Counselor
870-898-5138

The purpose of the Ashdown Junior High School counseling program is to help students resolve academic, social, personal, or emotional concerns that interrupt the educational process. The purpose of individual counseling is to help the student make responsible choices, respect self and others, develop appropriate behavior and resolve a problem. Counseling instead of therapy is conducted by the AJHS guidance counselor. Counseling addresses preventive and developmental concerns, and assists with educational and decision-making problems.

AJHS Parent Center & Facilitator

Our campus has a Parent Center where parents are encouraged to visit. We have free parental involvement pamphlets and books which can be checked out that pertain to parenting, working with the school, and dealing with jr. high age students. Parental facilitators are available to assist you with certain needs.

Volunteers

Our staff welcomes volunteers on our campus. Hare are a few areas in which we need help:

  • Field Trips
  • Assistant Coaches for DI, Quiz Bowl
  • FBLA
  • Student Council events, Science Fair Judges
  • Night Library Tutors

Read more

2016-2017 AJHS Faculty and Staff

Faculty Administration/Support James Jones – Principal – jjones@ashdownschools.org Tracy Forte’ – Vice Principal – tforte@ashdownschools.org Nancy Coker – Counselor – ncoker@ashdownschools.org LaQuita Mullins – Attendance Clerk – lmullins@ashdownschools.org Sharon Parker – Secretary – sparker@ashdownschools.org Diane Burnett – Media Specialist –dburnett@ashdownschools.org Debbie Turner – Nurse – dturner@ashdownschools.org Roy Burton – ISS – rburton@ashdownschools.org Robin Daniels – … Read more

Clubs and Organizations

AJHS is proud of it’s clubs & organizations. Thank you to all the sponsors that make them so successful! Student Council Student Council plays a very important role in our school. They help share ideas, interests and concerns with teachers and administration. They raise funds for school wide projects as well as helping the community … Read more

Fundraising

School is in full swing once again and so are our fundraising efforts here at AJHS. Due to loss of funding, we are striving extra hard to raise money. We are looking forward to raising a lot of money for our school. This year we are raising funds in many ways. A primary way is … Read more